Sad, sad text

Please. Just stop with the historical markers. If I’m going to pull my car out of breakneck traffic to swerve to your roadside marker, if I’m going to stop in the unshaded heat of midday to crane my neck upwards, if I’m going to stop near a muttering drunk on 6th street at midnight to examine your plaque on the side of an historic building, please please please make it worth my while.

Just not this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sign in downtown Austin

Did you make it past the second sentence? Me neither.

Give me some excellent words. Something that conveys a sense of excitement and purpose, that pops with violence or passion, that leaves me gutted or uplifted.

Also: ALL CAPS. For the love of god, no.

One thought on “Sad, sad text

Leave a Reply

